The Great McStruggle

image

I fought (well, more like shove/nudged) a three-year old girl, who also happens to be a little person, over ownership of this plastic nugget toy. It was 14 years ago ,at the book fair on the green. There was a giant cardboard box labeled “Free – please take” containing junky, used and mostly broken and filthy stuff. Still, I had to check it out. We happened upon the nugget at the exact moment and the battle was on immediately. As her teeny three-year old, little person hand reached out and without much force or swift movement, I grabbed it before she could. In my defense, it was actually a pretty reasonably even match, save for weight. (I once gave my friend Alec a serious black eye in what can I can only categorize a badly botched fist bump)

Leave a Reply

